Meredith’s Bread – Gluten Free Bakery

One of my favorite bakeries has been sitting in front of my nose, waving their gluten free treats at me for the longest time, and I didn’t realize until last week!

meredith

I first met Meredith’s Bread at the Gluten Free Allergen Friendly Expo in October, and I was incredibly impressed with their product line – rustic breads, muffins, pumpkin bread, carrot cake loaves, pies, quiches, tarts, brownies, rolls, scones, the most delicious black and white cookies I’ve ever tasted – every item was simply incredible. Soft, full of flavor, exactly what you want all of your baked goods to be. I couldn’t get enough and had to learn more.

IMG_3693

Meredith’s Bread is a family-owned bakery based in Kingston, NY. They’ve been selling wheat-based baked goods since 1987, but their most recent addition is perhaps their most exciting – a dedicated gluten free baking facility where all ingredients are certified gluten free. Several members of their family have Celiac Disease, and it was their dream to provide a full line of safe, delicious, and high-quality products for the gluten free community.

IMG_3694

My favorite items include the black and white cookies, peasant bread, rustic farmhouse bread, pumpkin bread, and carrot cake bread. I’m looking forward to trying their “Chocolate Explosion Assortment” (how amazing does that sound?!) and their adorable tarts.

IMG_3536IMG_3571IMG_3570

Meredith’s Bread products are available for purchase online (they ship nationwide), but here’s what’s really exciting for those of us on the east coast – you can find Meredith’s Bread at 42 farmers markets. On their website you’ll find a locator for specific markets in:

  • Manhattan
  • Brooklyn
  • Queens
  • Bronx
  • Albany
  • New Jersey
  • Orange County
  • Rockland County
  • Westchester
  • Dutchess County
  • Connecticut

IMG_3695

They are even at my little farmers market in Queens! Nine blocks from my apartment! I normally disregard all bread-related booths at markets, so I had no idea they were there! If you are a frequent Manhattan farmers market shopper, you can also find them at the markets on/in:

  • 175th St
  • 92nd St
  • 57th St
  • Abingdon Square
  • Bowling Green
  • Central Park
  • Chelsea
  • Columbia
  • Herald Square
  • Morningside Park
  • Sinai Hospital
  • Rockefeller Center
  • Tompkins Square
  • Tucker Square

As always, I highly recommend supporting new, local, dedicated, caring, and high-quality companies such as Meredith’s Bread. By offering them our support, not only do we benefit as consumers, but we as a community propel the gluten free market forward in a positive way.

IMG_3538

For more information, market locator, and to order visit http://www.meredithsbread.com

*Note: Pease remember that at any given market Meredith’s Bread will be selling their wheat-based products as well as their gluten free ones. Please read labels carefully.

Disclaimer: I was not paid to write this post. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love.

Leave a Reply

