Digital Kitchen Scales & Gluten Free Baking + Escali review

When you bake gluten free do you find that your recipes don’t turn out quite as good as you’d hoped? Why did your cookies spread out more than the ones in the picture? Why does your bread taste so dense? You might be missing a simple tool that could help take your baking to the next level – a digital food scale.

In my gluten free baking adventures, I’ve realized that it can be notoriously difficult to measure gluten free flour with a regular measuring cup. You’d be surprised at how often you might be packing in much more flour than your recipe calls for, creating overly starchy baked goods. And don’t get me started on teaspoons – when I got my first super precise scale I was shocked at how off I was when measuring small amounts of ingredients like baking soda.

I’ve also found that we generally overestimate portion sizes. Using a digital scale is a great way to become more aware of exactly how much we’re eating. You’d be surprised – that dollop of peanut butter that you thought was one serving might actually be three. For those who are trying to lose weight, simply become more mindful of their eating habits, or are following plans like the low FODMAP diet where portion size is critical, a food scale again is a very important tool.

My digital food scale is the most-used device in my kitchen. Unfortunately, I have gone through four food scales in the past five years, and darn it I’m ready for one that works and works well!

That is when I found the Escali L600 High Precision Digital Scale.

FullSizeRender (8)

Pros:

  • I measure mostly using grams. Most scales have a 1g or even 2g increment, which can seriously mess up a recipe, especially when measuring small amounts of things like baking soda or baking powder. This scale measures in 0.1g increments. Perfect!
  • It also measures in ounces (great, because I measure protein portions this way) and several other units including grains, pennyweights, troy ounces, and carats. Anyone have a diamond they need measuring?
  • A tare feature that allows you to reset back to zero. This allows you to subtract the weight of a container or measure multiple items in one go.
  • It also has a few features that I haven’t fully explored yet including item counting and cumulative memory.
  • It uses 4 AA batteries, which is great because they are easy to find. You can also purchase an optional power adapter for this model.
  • Automatic shut off after four minutes of non-use to help preserve the battery. One of my old scales used to turn off randomly in the middle of using it, which seriously messed up several batches of pancakes.
  • The platform rotates which makes it very easy to clean!
  • A backlight option for the digital display.
  • So far they seem to have good customer service. The last scale I had – I had no way of contacting the company when it broke.

Cons:

  • Honestly I don’t have any complaints so far. I think the scale is top notch. The only thing I felt I missed was that I couldn’t find instructions for setting the platform on the scale, but it wasn’t a problem in the end.

Not a con, but something to be aware of – the scale has a capacity of 600g (roughly 21oz), which (depending on your flour blend) is about 3.5-4.5 cups of gluten free flour, not including a measuring bowl. A sure way to kill your food scale is to put too much weight on it. I’m choosing to use a very small, lightweight measuring bowl (seen in the photo) and only measuring a few items at a time before transferring them to a bigger mixing bowl. Keeping my scale happy and healthy!

Note: This scale has a one year warranty and a two year professional guarantee in case a defect is discovered. I got the scale in July 2017 and will update this post in the future to let you know how it’s holding up compared to my other scales.

Overall, I am thrilled with this scale. It is precise, extremely sensitive, and just what I was looking for to make my gluten free baking creations the best they can be.

The Escali L600 High Precision Digital Scale retails for $84.95. Their other scales range from $35-$100. And they have free shipping!

For more information visit www.escali.com/scales/kitchen-scales

 

Disclaimer I received samples of these products, but I was not paid to write this review. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love. 

Leave a Reply

