NYC Vegetarian Food Festival 2016

While I am not a vegetarian, I am a big fan of vegetarian, vegan and raw food. I love how creative vegetarian chefs are and how I feel when I eat a diet rich in fruits and vegetables. That’s why I am always excited for the annual NYC Vegetarian Food Festival. Of course, there are many vendors that are not appropriate for my food intolerances, but there is always a hefty handful of dedicated gluten free companies that I am overjoyed to see. Here are my highlights from the festival!

Mo P’weeze Bakery It is always a treat to see them! Seriously amazing cupcakes. Gluten/dairy/peanut/egg/soy/tree nut free and vegan. I can’t believe that their cupcakes that moist without using eggs! Love their vanilla cake but I was also super impressed with their chocolate. Look out for them in NJ!

IMG_2420

Pony Cakes – Such a joy to meat the owner. Made in Brooklyn, Ponycake products are dedicated gluten free (oat free as well), vegan, organic, and GMO-free. The owner even makes her own butter and chocolate! Very tasty cookie sandwiches. 

FullSizeRender (13)

 

Organic Living Superfoods – Tasty snacks that are gluten free, dairy free, vegan, raw,  and organic. They sell a wide range of foods from assorted nuts, to dried fruit, chocolate, and energy squares. The Coconut-Crusted Macadamia Nuts are amazing! I can’t stop eating them. Also loved the Dark Chocolate Coconut Chunks. (Note the dairy free chocolate!)

IMG_5449

Lundberg – My new favorite chips! Lundberg’s short grain brown rice and arborio rice are always in my cabinet, so it was a treat to learn about their delicious chips that are bursting with flavor. I tried the sriracha (wonderfully spicy!), Chesapeake bay style seasoning, and sea salt flavors – all were incredibly delicious.

FullSizeRender (11)

Gold Thread Herbal Elixirs – I loved how many naturally gluten free drinks there were at the festival! Gold Thread Herbal Elixirs are incredibly refreshing, and the company’s mission is to educate the public on the healing properties of plants. My “Honey Rose” drink contained honeybush twigs, orange peel, goji berry, cardamom pods, rose petals, tulsi leaf & flower, vanilla bean, cinnamon chips, maple syrup, lemon juice, and lime juice. Organic, vegan, non-GMO and naturally gluten free.

IMG_2437

Green Mustache –  Delicious veggie/fruit smoothies. One bottle contains two cups of kale and spinach! Organic, non-GMO, cold pressured, vegan, naturally gluten free, and made in Brooklyn. Look out for their newest product –  super tasty gluten free cheddar-flavored crackers with kale and chia!

IMG_2445

Love Grace – I could drink this juice all day! Possibly the tastiest juices I have ever had (besides the ones I make myself!). Certified USDA Organic, non-GMO, vegan, and gluten free. They also have recommendations on their website for juice cleanses. 

IMG_2441

Suavva – delicious smoothies that are naturally gluten free! Also non-GMO, vegan and made with cacao. 

 

Until next year!

 

Disclaimer: I received samples of these products, but I was not paid to write this review. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

