GFF Magazine – Schar Review & Giveaway

Continuing the celebration of GFF Magazine’s Spring 2016 issue! We’re taking a look at Schar products.
IMG_7897

When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease, my father called me with a list of gluten free bread companies he found online (so thankful for my supportive family). I tried one after another. Most were fine, as long as they were toasted. But was I destined to live the rest of my life without soft bread? Of course I would survive. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things. But then I tried Schar, and I realized that I didn’t have to settle. Their bread is not found in the freezer aisle. Instead, it is packaged in sealed plastic so it can remain shelf stable. And it tastes good soft OR toasted!
IMG_7898

Pizza, ravioli, breadcrumbs, croutons, pasta, baguette, buns, cookies – Schar makes it all gluten free and is mindful of other common allergens. Schar is also an incredibly kind company dedicated to the gluten free community. On their website you can find:

  • Information about Celiac Disease
  • Advice on the gluten free diet & lifestyle from their resident dietician
  • Traveling tips
  • Recipes
  • A product search option based on other food allergies
  • Schar has also set up an additional educational website just for children with Celiac Disease/gluten intolerances! (www.123milly.com)

IMG_7899

I recently had the opportunity to try several of Schar’s other products. Besides their bread, they also make “Sch’Nacks” (mini cakes) and Chocolate Hazelnut Bars (think wafer cookies covered in chocolate). Each come individually wrapped and reminds me of desserts that I used to bring to elementary school in my pre-Celiac days. While they are definitely treats, it makes me smile thinking that Celiac children could bring these to school and not feel sad while their non-Celiac friends munch on their own lunchbox desserts. Sometimes it’s nice to have a little more “normalcy” in your every day, especially for children.

Now for a recipe with my first love, Schar’s Deli Bread.

Open-Faced Chicken & Mozzarella Sandwiches

IMG_7791

  • 2 slices Schar Deli Bread
  • Olive oil
  • 4 oz chicken breast, thinly sliced
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Oregano
  • 2 tsp pressed garlic
  • 2 oz mozzarella
  • 8 basil leaves, ripped
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Cut the 2 slices of Schar Deli Bread in half and place on a baking sheet. Toast in the oven for 10 minutes.
  3. While the bread is toasting, drizzle olive oil into a small pan. Place the chicken in the pan and add a dash of salt, pepper and oregano. Pan sear the chicken for about 3 minutes on each side, until fully cooked. Remove the chicken when done and slice into small pieces.
  4. Remove the bread from the oven. Drizzle a small amount of olive oil onto each piece of bread, then evenly spread the pressed garlic across. Add the chicken, followed by mozzarella, then basil. Top with an extra dash of oregano.
  5. Place the toast back in the oven for 15 minutes, until the cheese has lovingly melted. Remove and enjoy!

Serves 2 
IMG_7790

GIVEAWAY reminder!

Between April 1 and May 15, enter to win $250 worth of products and swag from Schar Gluten Free or Pamela’s Products, plus a year of GFF Magazine! Enter the giveaway here:

http://gffmag.com/gff-spring-launch-giveaway/

Ready to subscribe to GFF Magazine? Get 20% off with the code “GFFTM”

http://gffmag.com/subscriptions/

GFF_SP16_Cover_NoBarcode

Disclaimer: This is a sponsored post. Regardless, all opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love. Also, Schar’s Gluten Free Croissants contain gluten free wheat starch (Gluten Free Watchdog’s article from October 2015 states that the FDA considers it an ingredient processed to remove gluten, and wheat starch is allowed in food labeled gluten free in the US). While at this time, I myself do not eat any products that are processed to remove gluten, please consult Gluten Free Watchdog’s article to help determine if it might be appropriate for you. 

2 thoughts on “GFF Magazine – Schar Review & Giveaway

    • That varies. Each package is stamped with a best buy date. I currently have some crackers in my cabinet that are good until November. The breads are all in air tight packages. The last bread product that I got had a best buy date that was a few months away.

      Like

Leave a Reply

