ACE Cider Review

I have sampled quite a few hard ciders over the years. I’m fortunate in that my boyfriend prefers cider over beer (great news for the Celiac girlfriend who he wants to kiss!). Besides wine, cider became our casual drink of choice. I tried all of the seasonal varieties of his favorite brands, and we took delight in sampling obscure flavors in restaurants.

Last month I attended the first annual NYC Gluten Free Oktoberfest, and I found myself in a room filled with cider – many flavors and brands that I had never tasted before – all waiting patiently for me. That’s where I found it. The gem of the night – Ace Cider.

Ace-Pineapple-Bottle-Six-Pack

More specifically, ACE Pineapple Cider. While Ace Cider offers more traditional flavors such as apple and pear, I was delighted by the tropical infusion. Their pumpkin cider (which matched the fall theme perfectly!) was also a delicious turn from the norm. And I was very happy to see a “certified gluten free” stamp on every label.

Now let’s take a moment to put my joy in perspective. While I have tasted very good cider in the past, I have also tasted the bad – too dry; “low sugar” options that taste like a cleaning product; overly sweet variations that (while delicious) will send me straight into a sugar-induced cider coma.

Ace Cider is perfectly sweet, yet there are only 9g of sugar in the entire bottle. Let’s compare that to other brands you’ll commonly find –

  • Brand A – 15g
  • Brand B – 24g
  • Brand C – 26g!

I can’t go on! Please give me an Ace Pineapple Cider every time! 

The flavors:

  • Apple
  • Apple Honey
  • Berry
  • Joker
  • Perry
  • Pineapple
  • Pumpkin
  • Blood Orange (great brunch drink! Think mimosas!)
  • Black Jack Twenty One Premium Craft Cider

IMG_7788

The Black Jack cider was something really special. It came in a beautiful, sleek black bottle and hinted at wine and grape flavors. Here’s why:

“This Special Anniversary cider celebrates our 21 years of making ACE ciders in the Sebastopol area. We have taken the local Gravenstein apple, fermented it to 9% abv and then oak aged it in chardonnay barrels before bottling it with more carbonation than our core brands. Only a very limited number of bottles of Blackjack 21 have been made.”

Black Jack Twenty One is perfect for special occasions and holidays. I highly recommend you pick up a bottle for your next holiday party. Or your next Tuesday evening at home with Netflix. Your choice. 🙂

For more information visit http://www.acecider.com

 

Disclaimer: I received samples of these products, but I was not paid to write this review. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love.

Leave a Reply

