Luce’s Gluten Free Artisan Bread Review

I was first introduced to Luce’s Gluten Free Artisan Bread at a gluten free expo a year ago. Delicious smells lured me over to the table, and I was presented with samples of gluten free sourdough, Italian, and “rye” bread. I know – that last one caught me off guard, too. I looked at the sample skeptically. The company representative saw my hesitation, smiled and said, “ I know what you’re thinking – but it’s definitely gluten free.” And it was delicious. I had to learn more.

luce2

Charles Luce was diagnosed with Celiac Disease in 2002 and quickly made it a personal goal to create high-quality, rustic breads for the gluten free community. Seeing the pitfalls of most gluten free breads, Charles conceived a formula for a quick bread and a way to simulate artisan baking techniques using a paper bag. Luce’s Gluten Free Artisan Bread officially launched in 2012 and has been on the rise ever since. 

All of Luce’s bread mixes come with a unique baking bag, a non-stick support sheet, dusting flour, and instructions. All you do is add water, so truly anyone can make it. Buckwheat, Classic Sourdough, Italian, Really “Rye”, OMG (Oats-Millet-Garlic) Flatbread – so many wonderful options!

Luce

Important info:

  • Gluten free and processed in a dedicated facility
  • Dairy free
  • Egg free
  • Nut free
  • Soy free
  • Vegan
  • No added fats
  • Made in small batches

Luce’s also makes a Mile High Pancake Mix that is free from gluten, soy, and nuts.

IMG_9218.JPG

And now for the real test – my boyfriend. He’s from San Francisco and is a sourdough connoisseur, so I’ve made it my mission to impress him with the best sourdough the gluten free world has to offer. He has tried other brands in the past, but after one bite of Luce’s he was hooked – “The best sourdough I’ve had outside of San Francisco, gluten free or not.” Woohoo!

I am so happy to see this company continuing to grow. Their products are truly inspiring. I still cannot believe that these breads do not come from a specialty bakery! I’m blown away by the taste, texture and overall quality. “Rye” and sourdough breads have once again found a home in my gluten free kitchen.

Purchase online and in select specialty grocery stores (listed on website).

For more information visit http://www.lucegfbread.com

 

*Update: Some of these products are made with gluten free oats. However, they are not purity protocol oats (see my post for more info). I am currently only recommending purity protocol oat items. The sourdough and “rye” mixes are totally oat free. 

Disclaimer: I received samples of these products, but I was not paid to write this review. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love.

Leave a Reply

