Brooklyn Dark Chocolate

For once I was paying attention to the shops around me as I walked across Saint Marks Place, and boy was I glad that I was alert! If I wasn’t I would have missed the glorious words “Brooklyn Dark” on a sign leading up to a tiny café, not much bigger than my own kitchen. I hastily finished a phone call and rushed right up. Why was I so excited about this café? – It’s run by an amazing chocolate company.

KLA_5658

Brooklyn Dark produces one of my favorite gluten free chocolate bars. Artisanal, vegan, organic, dairy-free, Rainforest Alliance Certified – they truly want to make chocolate that is accessible for many people. They also use a very unique ingredient in all of their bars – hemp. Hemp is “high in digestible protein, healthy omega essential fatty acids (EFAs) and naturally occurring vitamins and minerals…a sustainable, environmentally friendly superfood.” We often see hemp seeds sprinkled on salads or mixed into yogurt, but Brooklyn Dark realized that it tastes amazing in chocolate.

KLA_5716

All of the Brooklyn Dark bars are dark chocolate (66% cacao) with hemp and come in five flavors:

Classic Hemp

Orange Silk – Orange, Sunflower and Cranberries

Open Sesame – Sesame Seeds

Pop Star – Popcorn and Sea Salt

Moroccan Spice – Exotic Spices

At the café I was like a kid in a candy store and sampled all five. Of course I enjoyed them all, but my favorites were the Classic Hemp and Orange Silk. The first was a perfectly sweet chocolate bar, and the second was an awesome flavor combination. The Moroccan Spice had a good kick to it – it’s definitely one that you have to try for yourself.

While Brooklyn Dark chocolates are available for purchase online and in select stores in Manhattan/Brooklyn, the Brooklyn Dark Hemp Bar is the perfect place to restock your chocolate stash. Besides their chocolate they also sell organic coffee, gluten free/vegan baked goods from Gone Pies (more information at www.gonepie.com), and even hemp t-shirts. The shop just opened about two weeks ago, so choosing them is a wonderful opportunity to support a great local business that cares about the gluten free community.

 

So if you happen to be in the East Village this week, stop by the Brooklyn Dark Hemp Bar, tell them that Jessica from Tasty Meditation sent you, and try some delicious samples of their chocolate. You might get so excited you’ll just have to buy a few (or a dozen) bars yourself.

 

Brooklyn Dark Hemp Bar is located at 9 St Marks Place (8th Street between 2nd and 3rd Ave) in NYC.

Find more information at www.brooklyndark.com.

Disclaimer: I received samples of these products, but I was not paid to write this review. All opinions are my own, and I only recommend products that I, myself, use and love.

Leave a Reply

