Kitchen Unveiling and Berry Blender Sorbet

“Jessica! Where have you been over the last month and a half?” Okay, so I haven’t been blogging quite as much, but I promise I have good reasons!

The first – I would like to proudly unveil….my new kitchen!

IMG_0637

The past few weeks have been a flurry of contractors, cleaning, measuring and re-measuring. But I finally have my beautiful new countertop (which provides much more prep space for my little New York kitchen), an undermount sink, fancy faucet, fridge, and the best part – my high end stove complete with convection oven settings, griddle, and a warming drawer.

IMG_0640

IMG_0629

IMG_0631

Don’t you love it?! Now there’s no need to continuously look up flour measurements on my phone!

I’ve also been hosting Gluten Free Dessert and Wine Nights for the NYC Celiac Disease Meetup Group. So far we’ve visited two fabulous 100% gluten free restaurants, Senza Gluten and Colors. If you are in the New York area be sure to look out for more information on our next Dessert and Wine Night to be held at one of my very favorite restaurants, Bistango.

IMG_8312IMG_8296IMG_0362 IMG_0363

And I have been long overdue for a recipe. What’s a girl to do when you’re in the midst of renovations and one day you don’t have a stove, the next you don’t have a sink to wash a pile of dishes in, and the next you don’t have a countertop? You make Berry Blender Sorbet, that’s what.

Light years healthier than real ice cream (yet very creamy and just as satisfying) my blender has saved me from countless summer cravings for Haagen Dazs. For this recipe, I recommend using a Blendtec Twister Jar. It comes with a lid that scrapes down the sides of the blender while you blend. If you don’t have a Blendtec Twister Jar, you might want to rethink your priorities in life.

Berry Blender Ice cream

1 cup frozen sliced strawberries

2/3 cup frozen sliced banana

Place fruit in your high powered blender. Blend for 1-2 minutes, until creamy. Remove and devour!

(Serves 1-2, depending on how advanced your sharing skills are)

Stay cool, friends! 

Leave a Reply

