Risotteria Melotti Review

Why has it taken me so long to write about Risotteria Melotti, one of my favorite restaurants in NYC? It’s simply because I wanted to post pictures with my review. However, any time a plate was placed in front of me, the food instantly disappeared leaving me photoless and proclaiming, “Shoot, I did it again!!!” Last week, I finally let my brain take control before my fork did, so here it is:

The first thing that I love about Risotteria Melotti – it has two locations. One is one 5th street in the East Village. The other is in Italy. No joke. It’s sister restaurant is in ITALY. The East Village location is dripping with Italian culture. When you step over the threshold, you’ll find a quaint, romantic yet rustic space that feels like you’ve been transported to a little town just south of Florence. It’s one of those lovely places where I walk in and am greeted by my favorite waitress who remembers both me and my favorite dish. This particular waitress is so sweet and welcoming. She makes personal recommendations, is genuinely happy to see both regulars and first-timers, and wants to share a beautiful dining experience with you. This welcoming atmosphere and the decor are two of the main reasons that I return to Risotteria Melotti again and again.

IMG_7892 IMG_7893

The other reason is, of course, the food. Everything is 100% gluten free. What a relief! Those of us with Celiac Disease and gluten sensitivities can feel safe knowing that every single ingredient can be consumed without risk of cross contamination. As their name suggests, they specialize in risotto. I’ve had several dishes on the menu and have never been displeased. My favorite meals start off with their homemade focaccia bread dipped in olive oil, plenty of wine, and perhaps one of their appetizer specials (one of which was the best appetizer I’ve ever had – I wish I could remember what is was! Ah, too much wine…). I as move towards the main course, my personal favorite is the All’anatra – risotto with duck breast, parmigiano cheese, rosemary, sage and bay leaves.

IMG_0306

Peaceful, romantic, rustic, flavorful, welcoming, charming – there aren’t enough adjectives to describe how wonderful Risotteria Melotti is. You’ll just have to try it out for yourself.  

Find out more about Risotteria Melotti by visiting their website. You can also watch a very sweet video on their main page that shows the journey of their rice from the farm to their table. Be aware, watching will make you hungry!

http://www.risotteriamelottinyc.com/

Disclaimer: I was not paid to write this review. I just love this restaurant so much that I want you to go there, too!

Leave a Reply

