Pumpkin Spice Latte

(From the September 2014 archives)
Today I gave myself a gift – I set aside the entire afternoon to be in my kitchen and try out some recipe ideas that have been floating around my head. I’m thrilled to say that they all came out absolutely delicious! They will be great additions to my future cookbook. Here’s a sneak peak:
Seeing signs for pumpkin spice lattes on every street corner, feeling the crispness in the air, I set out to make a delicious, warm drink to celebrate the beginning of fall.
What I love about this recipe is that the ingredients are simple and healthy – no sugary syrups or artificial ingredients from test tubes. Also, there is less caffeine than normal lattes since I use black tea instead of coffee. This recipe can also be made in a larger batch – I tripled the ingredients and now have several days worth of lattes sitting in a large glass jar in my fridge, waiting patiently for the weekend to arrive. What I have written below is a perfect single serving – quick, easy, and (most importantly) tasty.
Jessica’s Pumpkin Spice Latte
1/2 cup vanilla almond milk (note I did not use the unsweetened variation; you can also use any other type of milk that you prefer if you have a nut allergy)
1/2 cup strong black tea
1/3 cup canned pumpkin purée
1 tsp agave nectar
Pumpkin pie spice (to taste)
Make sure to let your black tea steep for a good while (10 minutes should be enough). Combine the tea, milk, pumpkin and agave nectar in a saucepan. Throw in a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice. Stir, heat and serve.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

