Carrot Cake Muffins and Giveaway Winners!

(From the not so distant early April archives)

It’s time to announce the winners of the Love with Food by G-Free Foodie Box! Thank you to everyone who entered via the blog/email and instagram. The winners are……..

Taylor Nicole Young

Beccageorge_

Winners have been notified via email/instagram. Please respond back within 48 hours. Otherwise a new winner will be drawn, and you don’t want to miss this!

If you didn’t win, remember that as a reader of my blog you can still get 50% off your first box! Follow this link: http://bit.ly/50off-GF

And be sure to visit Love with Food by G-Free Foodie at www.lovewithfood.com

And now….

Muffins, Muffins, Muffins!

Lately I have been obsessed with muffins. Double chocolate chip muffins, coconut banana muffins, carrot cake muffins – I want them all. And the muffins I make are no ordinary muffins. They’re practically guilt-free (as long as you don’t get overly excited about them and eat five or six in one sitting…why are you looking at me like that?…). The chocolate muffins are made primarily from fruit and oat flour; the banana muffins are high protein, low sugar, and paleo; and the carrot cake muffins….well, technically it is a carrot cake recipe in muffin form. BUT it is made with almond flour, lots of eggs, and sweetened with raw honey. So I’m going to say healthy muffin(/cake).

This recipe comes from Elana’s Pantry. I love, LOVE, LOVE Elana’s Pantry. Her cookbooks and websites are wonderful for healthy, paleo baking, and she comes up with some of the tastiest gluten free recipes I have ever made. So pick up a bag of almond flour and a dozen or so eggs and head over to her site.

One of the things that I really appreciate about this recipe is that it freezes really well. I’ll grab one or two from the freezer and stick them in a baggie on my way to work. It’ll naturally defrost (pretty quickly, too), and I have a delicious healthy snack alternative to eating nothing but protein bars all day.

If I’m at home, I like to top it with a spoonful of my own goat cheese frosting. You can find both recipes below.

Carrot Cake from Elana’s Pantry

http://elanaspantry.com/carrot-cake/

IMG_7911

3 cups almond flour

1 tsp sea salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

5 large eggs

½ cup honey (I prefer raw honey)

¼ cup coconut oil

3 cups grated carrots

1 cup raisins

(I skip the walnuts mentioned on her website but you can add in a cup if you’d like)

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. In a very large bowl, mix the almond flour, salt, baking soda, nutmeg and cinnamon.
  3. Add the eggs, honey, coconut oil. Mix.
  4. Add the carrots and raisins. Mix.
  5. Spray a muffin pan or ramekins well with nonstick cooking spray. Bake for 35 minutes. Remove from pan immediately and let cool completely before serving. (I find that the flavors are at their peak after it’s cooled)

Jessica’s goat cheese frosting:

2 oz (1/4 cup) goat cheese

1 tbsp agave nectar

Mix together with a spoon until smooth. Double/triple recipe as needed for bigger batches.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

